Leaving winter behind…

Here comes the hard part. Leaving. 

Today is our last day off here in Valle Nevado. I am going exploring outside today to take a bunch of pictures and breathe the fresh winter air before I, once again, have to leave it behind. 

Yesterday and the day before I got to train Downhill. Real downhill. For the first time in a long while. What was I doing without it?!? Last season I only got to race one downhill race: Alyeska. Which had serious potential to be seriously sweet, but new snow and funky conditions prevented it from being so. So, the last couple of days I got lucky enough to have 12 1/2 runs of downhill on icy, chalky (and in some places, seriously bumpy) snow. Some sections were even quite challenging; I got to fly off of a jump once (only once due to “wind?”) and I even missed a few gates (more than once). All in all I had a really awesome couple days of downhill (and Super G before that!). Once I realized how big my smile was at the bottom of the run (regardless of how it went), I knew that I had to go again and that I can’t stop the rush that I feel when I get to go fast through gnarly terrain and sunny skies.

I’m afraid there will be no speed for the last couple of days, but I realized yesterday how much work I need in slalom. It is just a matter of skiing it more (yesterday was my first day training slalom), and I know I will have plenty of opportunities for that before the season begins. I’ll update with pictures and such sometime when I’m home. For now, peace is where it’s at

About lalalaurenne

not too much to tell. I am a very boring person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leaving winter behind…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Look I’m being anonymous!

    *comment*

Leave a Reply

